top of page

Phyllis R. Dixon

Author

PDixon pic -t .jpg
I write to share some truth, entertain, and inform. Hopefully, all at the same time.   
 

 
indep bk stores.webp
KY bk fes poster.jpg
NBBF Houston_edited.jpg
breaking_news-removebg-preview.png

INTERMISSION IS AVAILABLE WHEREVER BOOKS ARE SOLD! 

A fun read -

Dreamgirls meets Waiting to Exhale

                       with a 1990's twist!

 

  

aalbc-bestseller-seal-200.jpg

Releases

INTERMISSION

Intermission is the story of four former girl group members, who broke up just as they were on the verge of mega-success. The 1990's are now the good old days, and they reluctantly consider reuniting for a twentieth anniversary tour, despite vows never to speak again. Each has their own memory of who did what to whom, and that memory has governed their life decisions. The truth is somewhere in between, and Intermission is the story of how they get to that truth.

Go to News & Media section for Book club discussion questions.  

Intermission cover.jpg

Order Now

Dixon gives her characters distinctive voices, exploring their inner lives and motivations... Fans of Kimberla Lawson Roby and ReShonda Tate Billingsley will be enthralled.               

Booklist

Advance Praise for Intermission

If you were a fan of girl music groups from the 1990s, you’ll love this story about the fictional girl group the Diamonds. 

Jina DuVernay

Southland Voices

 ...Intermission is a moving reminder that fame, and fortune never guarantees “happily ever after.”  

Janis F. Kearney CEO/Founder Celebrate! Maya Project/ former Chapter President National League of American Pen Women

Phyliss2.jpg

About Phyllis R. Dixon

A native of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Phyllis earned a B.A. in Business Administration from
the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. She spent over thirty years with the U.S.
Treasury Department as a National Bank Examiner. During this time she also owned a
bookstore. She enjoyed being around books, authors and readers, and decided to follow
her original dream and become a writer. She is the author of the novels Forty Acres, Down
Home Blues and the forthcoming Intermission. She has contributed to Chicken Soup for the
African American Woman’s Soul as well as newspaper and magazine articles on books, and
black history...........

Events

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.

--INTERMISSION Book Launch - Novel Bookstore, 387 Perkins Extended Memphis TN  July 25 6:00pm 

--National Black Book Club Conference - Atlanta, GA, July 27/28, Marriott, Buckhead

--Black Authors Matter TV  August 8, 7:30 pm  https://www.youtube.com/@blackauthorsmattertv

--Lemuria Books - Jackson, MS,  August 26,12:00 pm with Savvy Sisters Book Club

--Delta Blues Festival - WriteHER Series, Greenville, MS, September 15

--Trinity River Book Festival (Dock Book Shop) - Fort Worth, TX September 16 

--Boswell Books, Milwaukee, WI  October 7  4:00 pm

--Kentucky Book Festival, Lexington, KY October 21

--National Black Book Festival - Houston, TX October 27-  Fallbrook Church

--Louisville Book Festival, KY  November 10

--Books by the Bank, Cincinnati, OH - November 18

Intermission Book Tour
In-Person and Virtual
Appearances
bottom of page